Emirates Dermatology Society Annual Conference


Prof. Chalid Assaf
Prof. Chalid Assaf

Department of Dermatology and Venerology
HELIOS Klinikum Krefeld
Academic Teaching Hospital of RWTH Aachen University
Medical School Hamburg
Hamburg, Germany

Prof. Chalid Assaf is Director of the Department of Dermatology at the HELIOS Klinikum Krefeld, Academic Hospital of the RWTH University Aachen in Germany, a post he has held since 2009. Professor Assaf studied at the medical school of the Free University of Berlin, Germany, with a fellowship at the John Radcliffe Hospital, University of Oxford, UK, and was awarded his MD in 1997, then started an illustrious career. An internship at the Department of Pathology at the Benjamin Franklin Medical School of the Free University of Berlin, Germany, was followed by a residency and a specialist post in the Department of Dermatology and Venereology at the same hospital; he was then appointed Head of the Lymphoma Section of the Skin Cancer Center and, in 2008, as Assistant Professor, and in 2019 Full Professor at the Charité – Universitätsmedizin in Berlin (Apl.-Prof.), and in 2022 full professor of the Medical School Hamburg.

Professor Assaf was awarded a PhD for his thesis “Development of TCR-beta PCR for analysis of
T-cell lymphomas in combination with Genescan analysis” in 2001.

He is board certified in dermatology, dermatopathology, allergology, systemic tumor therapies, and medical quality management.

He has been published in more than 100 peer reviewed journals. Dr Asaf is a reviewer for several international journals Including the Journal of Clinical Investigation, BLOOD, British Journal of Dermatology; British Journal of Haematology; Journal of Clinical Pathology; Acta Dermatologica Venerologica; Leukemia and Lymphoma; European Journal of Dermatology, European Journal of Haematology, Journal of Experimental Dermatology, Journal of Investigative Dermatology, Haematologica, and Journal der Deutschen Dermatologischen Gesellschaft.

He has received many awards including the research prize for translational medicine of the Benjamin Franklin Hospital/Free University of Berlin; The Berlin Foundation of Dermatology Research Award and the Research Award of the Dr. Siegrid-Stettendorf Foundation: Cutaneous lymphoma.