Welcome Message

Dirk M. Elston

Dirk M. Elston

Professor and Chairman
Department of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, United States of America

Dr. Elston is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina, in Charleston. He serves as Editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, and has served as president of both the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Society of Dermatopathology and as Honorary Professor at China Medical University in Shenyang China, Guest Professor at the Xiangya School of Medicine, Central South University in Changsha, China, Visiting Professor, Peking University School of Medicine, Beijing, China and Adjunct Professor, Tongji University School of Medicine, Shanghai, China. He is an honorary member of both the German and French Dermatological Societies and has received commendation from the International League of Dermatological Societies for his international work.

Dr. Elston is a graduate of Jefferson Medical College, did his dermatology residency at Walter Reed Medical Center and a dermatopathology fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic. He is the author of over 660 peer reviewed publications and 75 textbook chapters. He is the Associate Editor in Chief of eMedicine dermatology, is one of lead authors of Andrews Diseases of the Skin and Editor in Chief of the Requisites in Dermatology series of textbooks. He received the 2020 American Academy of Dermatology Gold Medal and the 2023 American Academy of Dermatology Pearson Teaching Award, as well as the 2008 Walter Nickel Award for Excellence in Dermatopathology Education and the 2013 Founder’s Award of the American Society of Dermatopathology. Other teaching awards include the UIC, Rush and Cook County Dermatology residents teaching award, St Luke’s-Roosevelt Volunteer Teacher of the Year Award, Brooke Army Medical Center Department of Medicine Outstanding Teacher Award, Brooke Army Medical Center Department of Pathology Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Darl Vanderplueg Excellence in Teaching Award.

Stay Connected